Obama is no Bartlet

Ask European media to investigate fundraising fraud. Send a petition!

I love Jed Bartlet. Jed Bartlet is a hero of mine. Senator, you’re no Jed Bartlet.

Obama Mocks Christianity
http://truediscernment.wordpress.com/2008/09/12/barack-obama-mocks-the-bible/
Nice try.
But unfortunately Mr. Obama is not President Bartlet.
Mr. Obama does not have the gravitas or integrity.
He just sounded so cocky, snooty, condescending, phony, rehearsed and arrogant.
All he did was anger the right.
Although imitation(plagiarism?) is the sincerest form of flattery, it has to be done right to be appreciated.

For those who don’t know what I’m talking about:
There’s this scene in the West Wing (Season 2, Episode 3 “The Midterms) where President Bartlet chides a bible thumping gay basher, Dr. Jacobs (spoof of Dr. Laura).

BARTLET: Forgive me, Dr. Jacobs. Are you an M.D.?
JENNA JACOBS: Ph.D.
BARTLET: A Ph.D.?
JENNA JACOBS: Yes, sir.
BARTLET: In Psychology?
JENNA JACOBS: No sir.
BARTLET: Theology?
JENNA JACOBS: No.
BARTLET: Social work?
JENNA JACOBS
I have a Ph.D. in English Literature.
BARTLET: I’m asking, ’cause on your show, people call in for advice and you go by the name of
Dr. Jacobs on your show. And I didn’t know if maybe your listeners were confused by that,
and assumed you had advanced training in Psychology, Theology, or health care.
JENNA JACOBS: I don’t believe they are confused, no sir.
BARTLET: Good. I like your show. I like how you call homosexuality an abomination.
JENNA JACOBS: I don’t say homosexuality is an abomination, Mr. President. The Bible does.
BARTLET: Yes, it does. Leviticus.
JENNA JACOBS: 18:22
BARTLET: Chapter and verse. I wanted to ask you a couple of questions while I had you here.
I’m interested in selling my youngest daughter into slavery as sanctioned in Exodus 21:7.
(small chuckles from the guests) She’s a Georgetown sophomore, speaks fluent Italian, and
always clears the table when it was her turn. What would a good price for her be? While
thinking about that, can I ask another? My Chief of Staff, LeoO McGarry, insists on working
on the Sabbath, Exodus 35:2, clearly says he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated
to kill him myself or is it okay to call the police? Here’s one that’s really important,
’cause we’ve got a lot of sports fans in this town. Touching the skin of a dead pig makes
us unclean, Leviticus 11:7. If they promise to wear gloves, can the Washington Redskins
still play football? Can Notre Dame? Can West Point? Does the whole town really have to be
together to stone my brother, John, for planting different crops side by side? Can I burn
my mother in a small family gathering for wearing garments made from two different threads?
Think about those questions, would you? One last thing, while you may be mistaking this
for your monthly meeting of the Ignorant Tightass Club, in this building, when the President
stands, nobody sits.

Mr. Colbert, do you know who had enough gravitas and integrity to do the spoof of this scene right?
It was you.
http://www.reddit.com/comments/6l5qz/colbert_to_squirming_rightwing_pundit_i_think
You used to be great, Mr. Colbert.

One Response to Obama is no Bartlet

  1. Joan Skinner says:

    If only I had a dime for every time I came here… Incredible read.

Leave a Reply

